Awards Luncheon to Honor Leaders, Researchers, new Diplomates

Med-Sci Conference speakers, researchers, ASAM leaders, and newly certified diplomates will be honored during the Annual ASAM Awards Luncheon from noon to 2 pm Saturday in the Grand Ballroom on the second floor of the Hilton Chicago.

Tickets for the luncheon are available for $65 per person and are available at the Registration Desk. Honored at the luncheon will be:

  • Nora D. Volkow, MD, Director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse at the National Institutes of Health, the recipient of the John P. McGovern Award, who will deliver the Lecture on Addiction and Society.
  • Joseph Westermeyer, MD, MPH, PhD, will receive the R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Lecture Award. He is Professor of Psychiatry and Adjunct Professor of Anthropology at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.
  • H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, will receive the Public Policy Award for “outstanding contribution in advancing addiction treatment policy.” He is Director of the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment at SAMHSA.
  • Timothy Wiegand, MD, will receive the Medical-Scientific Program Committee Award for his paper, “Addiction Training During Medical Toxicology Fellowship,” which received the highest rating for its scientific merit among abstracts submitted for presentation at the conference.
  • Kay Russos-Ross, MD, will receive the Young Investigator Award for “Increasing Trends in Neo-Natal Abstinence Syndrome, What is the Cost?” which was judged the best abstract submitted by an author who is within five years of receipt of a doctoral degree.
  • Mike Miller, MD, will receive the Annual Award “For outstanding contributions to the growth and vitality of our Society, for thoughtful leadership in the field, and for deep understanding of the art and science of addiction medicine.” Dr. Miller is Medical Director, Herrington Recovery Center, Rogers Memorial Hospital, Oconomowoc, Wisc.
  • The 672 new ASAM Diplomates who passed the examination for Certification.