ASAM Board of Directors Approves Candidates for Fall Election

The ASAM Board of Directors has approved a slate of candidates to participate an election for ASAM Executive Officers by the membership. Individuals elected will serve terms running from 2013 to 2015. The candidates for an ASAM Executive Office are:

  • President Elect: R. Jeffrey Goldsmith, M.D., FASAM, and Richard G. Soper, M.D., J.D., M.S., FASAM
  • Secretary: Margaret A. E. Jarvis, M.D., FASAM, Mark L. Kraus, M.D., FASAM, and Herbert L. Malinoff, M.D., FACP, FASAM
  • Treasurer: Kelly J. Clark, M.D., M.B.A., and Lori D. Karan, M.D., FACP, FASAM

“The upcoming election for 2013 is vitally important because there are opportunities to advance addiction medicine that have never been present before,” said Louis E. Baxter, Sr., M.D., FASM, Immediate Past President. “We need leadership that will advocate and advance access for patients who need treatment, and we need leadership that can fertilize and stabilize the gains we have made over the past 10 years in research, treatment, and acceptance in mainstream medicine.”

Serving on the ASAM Board of Directors offers useful experience to the individual members and provides a view of the profession that is unparalleled in depth and breadth, said Dr. Baxter.

“It is an absolute honor to be elected by your peers to serve as an ASAM officer. Anyone who is selected and then is elected to serve has a very important responsibility, not only to the entire membership, but also to the entire field of addiction medicine,” he said. “Elected officers must broaden their outlooks and understanding about addiction and addiction treatment. ASAM is a big tent, and all of our members and their interests must be represented.”

For more information, please email The complete list of candidates for executive positions and Regional Directors is on the ASAM website,, under the “About ASAM” link within the “About Us” tab.

Regional Directors/Alternates are elected solely by the members of their ASAM Region. The Regional Director will be the individual receiving the highest number of votes cast, while the Regional Alternate Director will be the individual receiving the second-highest number of votes cast. Regional Director/Alternates candidates are as:

  • Region I Nominees—New York: Merrill S. Herman, M.D., and Jeffery A. Selzer, D.O.
  • Region II Nominees—California: David R. Pating, M.D., and Jeffery N. Wilkins, M.D.
  • Region III Nominees—Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont: Kenneth I. Freedman, M.D., M.B.A., FACP, and Stephen J. Ryzewicz, M.D.
  • Region IV Nominees—New Jersey, Ohio, and Pennsylvania: Jason M. Jerry, M.D.; Mark Philip Schwartz, M.D., FASAM; and John J. Verdon, Jr., M.D., FASAM
  • Region V Nominees—Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia: J. Ramsay Farah, M.D., M.P.H., FAACP, FACMP, FASAM, and P. Bradley Hall, M.D.
  • Region VI Nominees—Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin: Gavin Bart, M.D., FASAM, and Carl Christensen, M.D., Ph.D., FACOG, FASAM
  • Region VII Nominees—Arkansas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, and Texas: Robert M. Westcott, M.D., and Howard C. Wetsman, M.D., FASAM
  • Region VIII Nominees—Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Nevada, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming: Gary D. Carr, M.D., FASAM, and William F. Haning, III, M.D., FASAM
  • Region IX Nominees—Canada/International: F. Charles MacKay, M.D., C.M., and Melanie D. Willows, M.D.
  • Region X Nominees—Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Tennessee, and Virginia: Terry L. Alley, M.D., FASAM, and Bernd A. Wollschlaeger, M.D., FAACP, FASAM