ASAM Awards Presented at Luncheon

The new class of ABAM Diplomates gathered in one large space for a group photo Saturday after they were honored during the ASAM Awards Luncheon.

The new class of ABAM Diplomates gathered in one large space for a group photo Saturday after they were honored during the ASAM Awards Luncheon.

The most prestigious awards in addiction medicine were presented Saturday during the annual ASAM Awards Luncheon. Awards recognized outstanding service or achievements to the practice, science, or advocacy of addiction medicine and ASAM.

The special surprise Employee Achievement Award was given by ASAM Immediate Past President Louis E. Baxter Sr., MD, FASAM, to Claire Osman in recognition of her 40 years of outstanding dedication and service to ASAM. She was also recognized for her notable achievements in promoting education and training in addiction medicine; for being instrumental in establishing ASAM as a viable, thriving Society; for tirelessly soliciting and supporting the Society’s fundraising and sponsorship programs including the Ruth Fox Memorial Endowment Fund; and for her many other significant contributions demonstrating her wisdom generosity and her respect for people suffering from addiction.

Awards presented during the luncheon were:

  • ASAM President’s Award, Louis E. Baxter, Sr., M.D., FASAM, John P. McGovern, M.D. Lecture/Award, A. Thomas McLellan, Ph.D, “To recognize and honor an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions to public policy, treatment, research or prevention, which has increased our understanding of the relationship of addiction and society.”
  • ASAM Media Award, Dirk Wales – writer, producer, and director of Wearing Masks, a DVD Series
  • ASAM Annual Award #1, Kevin Kunz, M.D., M.P.H., FASAM, “For outstandingĀ  contributions to the growth and vitality of our Society, for thoughtful leadership in the field, and for deep understanding of the art and science of addiction medicine.”
  • ASAM Annual Award #2, Marc Galanter, M.D., FASAM, “For expanding the frontiers of the field of addiction medicine and broadening our understanding of the addictive process through research and innovation.”
  • Young Investigator Award, Randall Brown, M.D., Ph.D., “For the best abstract submitted by an author who is within five years of receipt of a doctoral degree.”
  • Medical-Scientific Committee Program Committee Award, Hannu Alho, M.D., Ph.D. “For author of the submitted abstract receiving the highest rating for its scientific merit.”
  • Outgoing Chair Award, C. Chapman Sledge, M.D., FASAM, Chair, Credentialing Committee from March 2000 to January 2010
  • Outgoing Board Members: R. Jeffrey Goldsmith, M.D.; Margaret A.E. Jarvis, M.D., FASAM; Michael M. Miller, M.D., FASAM, FAPA; Marvin D. Seppala, M.D.; C. Chapman Sledge, M.D., FASAM; Scott Smolar, D.O.; Penelope P. Ziegler, M.D., FASAM
  • Pain and Addiction Common Threads Course Directors, Herbert Malinoff, M.D., FACP, FASAM, and Edwin A. Salsitz, M.D., FASAM
  • Ruth Fox Course for Physicians Course Directors Margaret A. E. Jarvis, M.D., FASAM, and John C. Tanner, D.O., FASAM
  • Medical-Scientific Conference, Gavin Bart, M.D., Med-Sci Conference Director