ASAM Annual Awards Luncheon

Several people will be recognized during the ASAM Annual Awards Luncheon, from 12:30 to 2:30 pm Saturday in Governor’s Ballroom A-C, Fourth Floor. This is a ticketed event, and tickets can be purchased at Registration.

“We use the Awards Luncheon to take an opportunity to thank our committee chairs and officers who have committed time and effort to ASAM’s mission,” said ASAM Past President Louis E. Baxter Sr., MD, FASAM. “It is an opportunity to recognize people in government who have championed our cause and who have made contributions to the advancement of addiction and addiction treatment.

“We also give young investigators awards to encourage them to become interested in addiction medicine and recognize people in the media who have produced books, movies, and documentaries that add to our visibility and the understanding of the addiction to the general public.

Awards that will be presented are:

  • Presidential Award, Alexis Geier-Horan, MPP
  • Public Policy Award, Michael P. Botticelli
  • Annual Award, Paul H. Earley, MD, FASAM
  • Annual Award, H. Westley Clark, MD, JD, MPH, CAS, FASAM
  • Annual Award, Richard K. Ries, MD, FAPA, FASAM
  • John P. McGovern Award, Mark S. Gold, MD, FASAM
  • Media Award, Bess O’Brien
  • Young Investigator Award, Crispa J. Aechbach Jachmann, MD
  • ASAM Annual Conference Program Planning Committee Award, Terry Horton, MD
  • ASAM/Millennium Research Institute Annual Conference Program Committee Award, Ashwin A. Patkar, MD, MRCPsych
  • Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award, George F. Koob, PhD